News in brief

M53 Junction 2 – the Highways Agency has been in touch and has advised me that they are applying for emergency funding to carry out repairs to the junction, following concerns raised with me by residents.  As soon as I have further information, I’ll report back here

Gardenside – I’m pleased to report the Council has accepted the need for urgent action to tackle the pot holes and that a start date for work is awaited from their contractor Colas.

Upton Park – I’ve spoken to Lynne Chong about the Council’s request to remove the various tributes at the Youth Hut.  Thank you to everyone who has contacted me about this issue.  I’ve asked the Council to think again and will be meeting with Lynne soon.

Moreton Adult Day Centre – thank you to everyone who has contacted me about possible closure of the Centre (or Heswall, or Eastham).  I attended a meeting on Friday with Cllr. Chris Blakeley and around 50 or 60 family members or ‘service users’.  I do not support closing this facility – it does great work with adults who have learning difficulties and all three centres are a lifeline to the families of those who use them.

Leasowe Road/Reeds Lane – I’ve asked if we can have a litter bin at this junction, following a complaint by a resident that her garden is being used as a dumping ground for all kinds of rubbish.

Information Commissioner – I have registered with the Information Commissioner’s Office as required of all councillors.  However, instead of asking the Council to pick up the cost of registration (£35) I will pay that myself.  My number (shades of Patrick McGoohan and The Prisoner) is PZ3553624 for those who are interested.

What do you think? Have your say here...

